“She Will Be Free” – the Josh Abbott Band

I don’t know if I can really put into words how much I LOVE this song but I am going to try.

Red Dirt and Texas Country music has been my escape for several years now.  My escape from sleepless nights, long days, troubled relationships and that unpleasant “pop country” that’s going around. Really music in general has always been my escape from life for as long as I can remember.

“She Will Be Free” by the Josh Abbott Band is what I would call My Song.  

The first time I heard it was early in the morning on 95.9 The Ranch.  That in itself is a small miracle considering at the the time I was living in Montana and 95.9 is a station broadcast out of Fort Worth, Texas.  I am forever grateful for their free app that allows me to take the station with me no matter where I go! That particular morning this song came on while I was laying in bed not wanting to get up and face the day.

I kind of liked the sound of the intro so I turned it up and listened. Then I recognized the vocals and new it had to be good because; Josh Abbott!!! Once it came to the chorus I had the chills and tears in my eyes. Yes! I LITERALLY had tears in my eyes!

The lyrics hit home for me, really hard. In my opinion any song worth it’s time has lyrics that mean something and for me “She Will Be Free” instantly connected to the part of me that was miserable yet longing to be happy.

I WANTED TO BE FREE!!!!

There is a lyric video included but I’m not going to go into the lyrics here. If you feel so inclined give it a listen. In my opinion it’s a great song and to this day I get a little shiver down my spine and a tingle in my chest when it comes on and it is safe to say that this song will be a part of my playlist for all my adventures yet to come!

Leave a Reply

