“I have had dreams and I have had nightmares but I have conquered my nightmares because of my dreams.” – Jonas Salk

I found this quote one day while I was looking for ideas for a new tattoo and I just really felt it click.  I’ve mentioned before that I have troubles with nightmares.  I am also a young woman with some very big dreams.

“…I have conquered my nightmares because of my dreams.”

It is completely normal to have negatives thoughts, negative energies, negative feelings. It is also just as normal for us to have goals, wishes and dreams.

This quote gives me great comfort because unlike some it isn’t telling me to shove aside any and all negative thoughts and replace them only with the positive. That never really worked with me. All the bad stuff always had its way of creeping back to the surface and that always did more harm than good.

We don’t have to let one or the other control us and we don’t have to pretend that our dreams or our nightmares don’t exist. We can have both. We can live with both. We can use our nightmares to motivate us to chase our dreams. We can use our dreams to fight against our nightmares.

Leave a Reply

