WATER! DRINK IT!

My first summer here in North Texas hasn’t proven to be as miserable temperature wise as I had expected, but the locals assure me that the worst isn’t here yet. It definitely gets hot; just the other day my weather app told me the real temp was 95 but the “feels like” temp was 105…. coming from Montana to Texas is a big change as far as heat goes!

One of the first things everyone told me when I got here, right in the middle of the storm season and the start of summer, is start drinking water regularly.

Helpful but with my health tip this month I’m taking it a step further: DRINK WATER LIKE IT’S GOING OUT OF STYLE!!!!!!!

In my life I’m outside a good portion of the day and most of the time I spend outside I am riding, lunging, saddling, training, chasing and sometimes engaging in hand to hand combat with 1200 pound animals. The horses and myself both get hot and sweaty and cranky, it’s inevitable. My solution is water! Nice, cool, wet water.

I understand not everyone spends their days outside sweating and I also understand that there are a lot of people that spend their days sweating way more than I do! But, water is good for everyone. Whether you have a stressful office job, drive truck, train horses, coach baseball or sing professionally water is good for you.

It replenishes our bodies, helps regulate our internal temperature, helps regulate cravings, aids metabolism, helps keep skin healthy, the list of good stuff it does goes on and on. If you don’t believe me google “health benefits of water” and read until your little hearts content. There are hundreds of articles and studies our there by doctors and scientists, health gurus and fitness bloggers and I’m just me; a girl that needs to keep herself healthy just like everyone else.

So here’s what you do:

  1. get yourself a nifty water bottle
    1. bonus points if it has something funny on it like a witty play on a line from Mean Girls!
  2. fill your nifty water bottle with nice cold water
  3. carry it with you EVERYWHERE
  4. drink from it often until it’s empty
  5. then repeat steps 2-4
3 thoughts on “WATER! DRINK IT!

  1. Hi there !

    I stumbled upon your blog by chance and I like it very much.
    I’m a Belgian girl and almost two years ago I threw my life through the window and left for Canada with my boyfriend, for one year. By chance, landed on cattle ranches, worked on several of those for six months, then landed with reining trainers for another six months.
    Got back to Europe, went to France, worked for two trainers for nine months and I now landed in Austria, with the brother of the trainer I worked for in Canada ! (Coincidences are a funny thing, right?). => all this is a very very very short summary of the whole story, but don’t want to bore you to death in your own comments section 😉

    I really like your blog because I can relate to some of the thoughts you express and I like your phrasing too.

    This post in particular had me laughing as I could just remember my own self this very summer in Southern France, starting 2 and 3 year olds with T° of 47°C (F ??).
    I made a picture of that, feel free to share it !

    Sorry about all the French on my blog 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you like my blog, thank you so much! It’s not overly exciting at the moment lol Sounds like you’ve got to do a lot of traveling, eventually I plan on seeing as much of the world as possible but I’ll probably need to save my bank account up again first!

      Like

  2. Oh, I’m done with traveling for a while (my bank account had an attack of the vapors after our stay in France and is holding my wallet hostage). Planning on staying at Jacpoint Quarter Horses and working with Cody Sapergia for a while I hope !

    Good luck to you and may you achieve your dreams. It sounds like you’re living bits of your dreams on a daily basis 😉

    Have fun and if you ever come to Europe, let me know !

    See you in your comments threads later…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

