30 Days Without Snapchat

30 days ago I gave up on one of the most popular social media apps on the market.

I wasn’t sure at the time if I would return to it or not but I was certain that I needed a break.  The people I had as friends on the apps were all people from my life before I moved to Texas, most of whom I don’t talk to unless I feel lonely. Reverting to my old ways is NOT a habit I wish to reinforce.  I also found myself adding pictures for the purpose of “showing everyone how awesome my life is now” like I was trying to prove that my life is better than theirs or something like that. Plus, we all know how annoying it can be to send messages to someone, see that they saw your message but din’t reply. For these reasons, and a few others Snapchat just left a bad taste in my mouth.

My account logged off and the app deleted from my phone I wasn’t sure how hard it was going to be to get used to not having it.  After all I was notorious for checking for new snaps any time I picked up my phone! Even if nobody ever actually sent me snaps…. Oddly enough I had no problem adjusting to life without that little ghost in his yellow icon.

On occasion I would wonder if anyone had sent me anything but those thoughts were fleeting.

Now that my 30 day cleanse is complete I haven’t decided if I’ll go back to Snapchat or not. I did put it back on my phone and log back in long enough to see what I had missed while I was away. Very exciting stuff too!

If I do go back I have a feeling it’ll be more for self-indulgence than actual socializing.

 

Leave a Reply

