“If you aren’t in over your head, how do you know how tall you are?” -T.S. ELliot

I went on a quote hunt the other day and it took me all of five minutes to come across this little beauty. Right away  I knew I had to share it because it fits so well with my project #ChallengeMyself2016. For the next 12 months I will be pushing myself towards one big “finale” if you will.

Every month a different goal, and although seemingly unrelated, all playing a small part towards preparing me for my newest and biggest adventure yet. To say that I will be in over my head is probably an understatement but I love this mentality! Sure, maybe I swam out a little further than my feet could reach but I will adapt and I will grow because of it.

The deep end can be scary, knowing that the bottom of the pool is getting further and further away, you’re on your own, the only thing keeping you afloat is yourself. Would you rather sit awkwardly in the shallow end, content with the fact that you jumped in at all? Can you be happy knowing that bigger, better, scarier, more challenging things are out their just waiting for you to conquer them but you chose to play it safe?

I can’t; and that is exactly why I am pushing myself to my limits this year.

We never know what we can accomplish until it overwhelms us and we still emerge victorious.  So, go ahead, get in over your head.

 

2 thoughts on ““If you aren’t in over your head, how do you know how tall you are?” -T.S. ELliot

Leave a Reply

