Be Courteous

Just wanted to jump on and share a little reminder with everyone tonight.

I recently received a medical bill I wasn’t planning on, one of several reasons I DON’T GO TO DOCTORS, and it’s more than I can comfortably afford right now. This put me in a foul mood this afternoon and in order to combat this I broke my no coffee rule. As I was pulling into Starbucks, fuming on my cell phone about the healthcare system, I accidentally cut off another car pulling in from the other direction. The driver waved, saying I could continue on but I felt bad. So, I backed up and allowed her to go ahead of me.

I ordered my grande, caramel frapp with no whip cream and continued ranting into my phone. At the window I pulled out my debit card, feeling guilty about spending $5 on coffee, and prepared to hand it to the barista.  She proceeded to wave away my card, hand me my coffee and inform me that the lady in front of me had paid for my coffee.

A few times in the past I have paid for the order behind me, usually at Starbucks, but I’ve never actually had the favor returned. I was instantly in brighter spirits and my eyes even got a little watery.

Even if you are going through bad times, having a bad day or just in a bad mood, don’t forget to be NICE. It doesn’t have to be some big, extravagant gesture. Hold a door open, smile at someone in the grocery store, say excuse me, please, thank you. You never know what it could mean to the other person.

2 thoughts on “Be Courteous

  1. Excellent reminder. It costs nothing to be nice! I, too, understand the whole over-the-top medical bills as I live with heart failure. I LOATHE going to the doctor, but you have to take care of yourself. Hope all is well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

